Middle States Announces Award Winners from 2012

USTA Middle States (USTA MS) has announced winners of the 2012 Middle States Awards, recognizing some of the top tennis individuals, coaches, players and advocates in the area.

The award winners are chosen from the six districts of USTA MS: Allegheny Mountain (AMD), Central Pennsylvania (CPD), Delaware (DD), Eastern Pennsylvania (EPD), New Jersey (NJD) and the Philadelphia Area (PATD), for their contribution to the growth of tennis throughout Middle States.

Each award winner will be honored at their respective district award ceremony. The date and location of the AMD awards ceremony is yet to be decided, while award winners from EPD will be honored at the CPD ceremony.

Award Winners

Carol Strasser Memorial League Service Award
Sigrid Driscoll, EPD

Community Tennis Association Award
Greater Pottstown Tennis Association, PATD

Edwin J. Faulkner College Coach of the Year
George Dieffenbach, University of Pittsburgh, AMD
Bill Eydler, King’s College, EPD

Edwin J. Faulkner High School Coach of the Year
Sally Allen, EPD

Family of the Year
Fleming Family, DD

Junior Volunteer of the Year
Mara Trifoi, EPD
Belinda Ji, NJD

Media Excellence Award
Ed Levin, PATD

NJTL Section Award
Willingboro Parks & Recreation Department, NJD

Organization of the Year
Commercial: West End Racquet Club, EPD
Non-commercial: Tennis For Kids., Inc., CPD

Teaching Professional of the Year
Mark Centrella, DD

Tennis On Campus Leader Award
Danny Zemel, University of Pittsburgh, AMD

Tournament Director of the Year
Rochelle Seilhamer, AMD

USTA Jr. Team Tennis Organizer Award
Melanie Calhoun, AMD

Volunteer of the Year
Karen Jennings, PATD

To read more about each of the winners, click here.

District Award Ceremonies

DD: January 6, 2013 – Double Tree Hotel, Wilmington, DE
CPD: February 24,2013 – Bent Creek Country Club, Lititz, PA
PATD: March 3, 2013- Green Valley Country Club, Whitemarsh, PA
NJD: April 21, 2013 – Laurel Creek Country Club, Mount Laurel, N.J.

For questions about each particular awards ceremony, contact the district representatives listed below.

AMD: Hank Hughes, hank10spro@comcast.net
CPD/EPD: Denise Dunn, tennis55@comcast.net
DD: Monique Holloway, moniqueholloway@comcast.net
NJD: Carol MacLennan, minimac34@aol.com
PATD: Rose Weinstein, tennisrose@comcast.net

For more information on USTA States Middle Awards, including a description of the award criteria and past winners, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s