Middle States Announces Annual Awards

USTA Middle States this week released its list of award recipients from 2015, recognizing some of the top tennis individuals, coaches, players and advocates from across the Section.

Award recipients were chosen through a representation of USTA Middle States volunteers and staff, working together to compile nominations from each of the six Middle States districts: Allegheny Mountain (AMD), Central Pennsylvania (CPD), Delaware (DD), Eastern Pennsylvania (EPD), New Jersey (NJD) and the Philadelphia Area (PATD).

Recipients will be honored at their respective district award ceremony, which will take place on various dates between January and May. A schedule for the district award ceremonies can be found below.


Community Tennis Association Award
Frick Park Clay Tennis Club (Allegheny Mountain District)

Edwin J. Faulkner College Coach of the Year
Tina Tharp, West Chester University (Philadelphia Area Tennis District)

Edwin J. Faulkner High School Coach of the Year
Sally Moore, Julia R. Masterman Laboratory and Demonstration School (Philadelphia Area Tennis District)

Tom Schoeninger, Moravian Academy (Eastern Pennsylvania District)

Family of the Year
DeNardo Family (Eastern Pennsylvania District)

Media Excellence Award
Earle Cornelius, Lancaster Newspapers (Central Pennsylvania District)

Presidential Service Award
Rob Howland (New Jersey District)

Teaching Professional of the Year
Josh Cohen (Philadelphia Area Tennis District)

Tennis On Campus Leader Award
Brian Rubin, University of Pittsburgh (Allegheny Mountain District)

Tennis On Campus Club of the Year
Rowan University Club Tennis Team (New Jersey District)

Tournament Director of the Year
Marc Vecchiolla (New Jersey District)

USTA Junior Team Tennis Organizer Award
Lisa Ullman (New Jersey District)

Volunteer of the Year: Adult
Dung Tran (Philadelphia Area Tennis District)
Cheree Jones (Central Pennsylvania District)

Volunteer of the Year: Junior
Julia Friedenberg and Sara Cammarota (Philadelphia Area Tennis District)

Iswarya Vel and Payani Samala (Philadelphia Area Tennis District)

William A. Hills Section NJTL Chapter Award
Tennis Central (Central Pennsylvania District)

District Award Ceremonies: Dates

Delaware District – January 31, 2016, Doubletree Hotel (Wilmington, Del.)

Eastern Pennsylvania District – March 6, 2016, Moravian College, HUB Building (Bethlehem, Pa.)

Philadelphia Area Tennis District – March 6, 2016, Green Valley Country Club (Lafayette Hill, Pa.)

New Jersey District – April 10, 2016, Laurel Creek Country Club (Mount Laurel, N.J.)

Central Pennsylvania District – May 1, 2016, Heritage Hills Resort (York, Pa.)

Allegheny Mountain District – TBD

For more info on the events, or for media requests, contact Michael Gladysz at gladysz@ms.usta.com or call 484-302-0759.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s